

American Association of University Women

AAUW HOEFFLER SCHOLARSHIP

January 23, 2023

Dear High School Students of Iron Mountain or Kingsford,

The American Association of University Women is an organization whose mission is to promote equality for all women and girls, lifelong education and positive societal change. In support of this mission, the Iron MountainKingsford AAUW branch is offering a scholarship in the amount of \$500 for all local high school seniors.

Description: The Eleanor M. Hoeffler Scholarship (est. 1987) is awarded to a student from IM or Kingsford who will pursue studies in Communications, Performing Arts, Visual Arts, or English. Applications will be accepted for **all** eligible high school seniors.

The American Association of University Women Scholarship Criteria are as follows:

- 1. The applicant must be a senior from Iron Mountain or Kingsford.
- 2. He/She must be accepted by an accredited four-year college or university and enrolled in a four-year or more program of study. (Note: Proof of acceptance may be required prior to distribution of scholarship funds.)
- 3. He/She must be in good scholastic standing with a minimum GPA of 3.0, and be planning to major in Communications, Performing Arts, Visual Arts or English.

Scholarship recipients will be selected based on a written essay, community and school activities, and honors.

Applicants are to complete the attached application and essay. The completed application and essay must be scanned and emailed to:

AAUW Scholarship Committee imkaauwscholarship@gmail.com

APPLICATIONS ARE DUE BY MARCH 17, 2023

We encourage all applicants to consider becoming involved in AAUW both during their post-secondary education years and continue throughout their lifetime. Many colleges have student affiliates as do many communities across the country. Go to www.aauw.org for more information!

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at imkaauwscholarship@gmail.com

Sincerely,

Barb Rice, AAUW Traditional and Hoeffler Scholarship Committee Chair